Why I Counted Calories for 1 Week & Dont Recommend It

We live in this world where we are all trying to lose weight, be fit and live well. It can be a little crazy & overwhelming with all of the different diets & tricks out there! South Beach Diet, Atkins, Weight Watchers, etc., which do you choose?!
Last week I decided to try counting calories. I have never counted calories before and I honestly didn’t even know how many calories a woman with my weight & height should intake.
The week is over and here’s what I know:
-I did lose 3lbs last week. I think we all are excited when the scale is a lower number but, even I’m learning that the scale doesn’t define you.

-I was hungry. I found that because I was restricting myself so much that there were times that I was hungry. I think there are very few things worse than the feeling of hunger. Hence the term HANGRY.

-It affected every part of my day or conversation.
“Want to grab lunch?”
“No I’m counting calories.”

“Hey let’s go get a scoop of ice cream!”
“Okay, let me see how many calories it is first.”

I wasn’t living. I was counting.

-It’s not a long term lifestyle for me. I can’t see myself through my healthy lifestyle, counting calories forever.

All calories are not created equally. I repeat, ALL CALORIES ARE NOT CREATED EQUALLY! Some foods that I know are good for you like healthy peanut butter, GREEN JUICE (come on y’all, I couldn’t believe this one!), avocado and eggs, are kind of higher in calories. A girl can’t survive on lettuce and water, I like to eat! And I noticed that I wasn’t getting all of the nutrition I knew I should have, because it didn’t fit in my calories for the day.

Lastly, what’s my next challenge? To let it all go. No, I’m not reverting back to being overweight and unhealthy! But I’m letting all of the pressure go. I’m going to stop comparing myself and stop pressuring myself to be this specific brand.

I’m Laura.

I’m 27 and 185lbs.

I feel amazing, I love all of my curves, I love to eat & cook, and sweating is some of the best therapy I know about.

I’m going to cook just like I have been. Getting back to the basics of nutrition with whole foods.

I’m going to keep dancing my Saturday mornings away with Zumba

And I’m going to keep loving myself, my body, and this journey.

THIS is the only thing that matters.

This may be my biggest challenge yet, but I’m ready! Are you?

Peace. Love. Green Juice.

-Laura

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a comment