Why Should I Do A Juice Cleanse?

Hey Juice Friends,

Laura here to talk to you about one of the biggest challenges we urge you to take. Juice cleanse! I’m sure you’ve read an article or two, or even heard Dr. Oz talk about this idea. Some of you may think it’s the craziest thing in the world, and some of you are ready to stop reading and start drinking! No matter which side you land on…let’s talk this through and make sure you’re making the RIGHT choices for your eating habits, lifestyle & budget.

What is a juice cleanse?
A juice cleanse is when you make fresh juices from fruits and vegetables and consume about 8 juices of about 14-16 ounces for whichever amount of time you choose.

How long do I cleanse?
The choice is yours! Kendra likes to do 1 day cleanses sometimes after a night of drinking or maybe if you ate something you shouldn’t have. I did a 7 day cleanse that literally changed my life! If you’ve watch Fat, Sick & Nearly Dead, Joe Cross did a 60 day cleanse! Holy cow, right? If you’re asking me, I’d say to start with a 3 day cleanse and see how you feel. If you’re loving it, go to 5 and reassess. If you’re still feeling up in spirits (which I promise you, you will) go on to 7! Please consult your doctor if you plan to go over 7 days. We want you to LIVE to see these results!

Do I have to have vegetables AND fruit?
You don’t HAVE to do anything! Everything we mention about cleanses are simply suggestions and you should tailor it to your life. I wouldn’t recommend having only a fruit juice. Fruit has a lot of sugar, and honestly sugar is sugar no matter if you’re eating chocolate cake or 3 containers of strawberries. Mixing it up with some of your favorite vegetables will lessen the sugar intake and give you the nutrients you really need.

What can I expect from a cleanse?
Here’s where my honesty kicks in. You will be hungry. There isn’t any denying that. But you aren’t actually hungry. You’re eating 3 carrots, 4 stalks of celery, an orange, 2 apples, and a lime (if this were the recipe you were to choose). Your body is just expecting you to feed it the salads, yogurts & eggs that you normally give it. Push through these hunger pains. Keep your mind busy by maybe reading a book, watching some TV or just go to bed.

Also, are you addicted to cigarettes, caffeine or anything else? Expect withdraws. I can speak from experience on this one. I started drinking coffee with when I was like in 3rd grade. So when I decided to do the cleanse I knew it was going to be bad. I got headaches, my stomach hurt and my body hated me. During these times I slept. That was the only way time passed by during the withdraws. By day 3 my withdraws were gone and I was feeling great!

What do I eat once I’m done cleansing?
Eat cautiously. Please understand that you have just rid your body of a lot of toxins that have been in your body for years. I only eat one animal product at a time. TRUST ME on that. I once had a cobb salad a few days after my cleanse, and it was a big mistake!
Also, this is your chance to start over! Start eating cleaner, and get in the kitchen and start cooking! You’re better off when you know exactly what’s in your food!

So what do you say fellow juicers? Are you ready to take our challenge?! If there are questions I didn’t answer here PLEASE send an email at ourjuiceology@gmail.com and I’d be more than happy to answer it for you.

You can do this, I promise!

-Your Juiceologists

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

One thought on “Why Should I Do A Juice Cleanse?

  1. […] Why Should I Do A Juice Cleanse? […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 116 other followers

